Jubilee College of Music

News & Events

JCM Graduate Organizes Composition Recital

March 17, 2014

Jubilee College of Music graduate Hyejin Jun arranged and performed at a composition recital at San Francisco's Center for New Music on Taylor Street.

The recital themed "Dots and Lines," program was planned by Ms. Jun where she, along with other musicians, performed pieces of contemporary classical music. 

The concert began with "Dots and Seeds" in a solo piano composition inspired from the Parable of the Mustard Seed (Matthew 13:31-32). It later continued with "Tranquil Passion" for two violins, "Lines and the Sea" for solo piano, and Yeomyeong for violin and piano. 

Other featured artists and performances at the concert included “Dots and Seeds” for solo piano by Julie Herndon, "Tranquil Passion" for two violins by Mia Bella D'Augelli and Yuri Kye, "Lines and the Sea" for solo piano by Lyudmila N. Chudinova, and "Yeomyeong" for violin and piano by Mia Bella D'Augelli, and Jacob Lane. 

"Dots and Lines are the simplest elements in art. Dots and lines are the building blocks of art, the main ingredients of a recipe," said Ms.Jun. "They may be connected or unconnected and are used in multitudes or in combinations to form patterns, rhythm and movement. Depending on how and where we put them, we can create a color, an image, a shadow zone, the space and the time. The music pieces in the concert try to show how dots and lines are being grafted onto music."

Olivet University is a private institution of Biblical higher education incorporated in the State of California in 2004 and located in San Francisco. It awards degrees ranging from an undergraduate certificate to a Doctor of Philosophy in a half dozen different majors, from various church-based ministries to market-place ministries, such as business administration and language education.


Graduate Composition Recital "Dots and Lines"

Dots and Seeds for solo piano
Julie Herndon, piano

Tranquil Passion for two violins
Mia Bella D'Augelli and Yuri Kye, violins

Lines and the Sea for solo piano
Lyudmila N. Chudinova, piano

Yeomyeong for violin and piano
Mia Bella D'Augelli, violin
Jacob Lane, piano

For more information, visit http://jcm.olivetuniversity.edu/